Oct 14, 2008

Pakistan's Sialkot Stallions joins Champions League cricket twenty20

Pakistan's newly crowned Twenty20 champions -- Sialkot Stallions will now be a part of this year's Champions Twenty20 League, Lalit Modi, Chairman of the Champions League Twenty20 and vice-president BCCI announced on Friday.

Sialkot, led by national captain Shoaib Malik, notched up a narrow seven-wicket victory in the final over Shahid Afridi-led Karachi Dolphins at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Wednesday. And now they will join two teams each from India, Australia and South Africa and England’s Middlesex in the eight-team competition.

The teams are for the competition will be Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings (India), Western Australia Warriors and Victoria Bushrangers (Australia), Titans and Dolphins (South Africa), Middlesex (England) and Sialkot Stallions (Pakistan).

"The participation of Sialkot Stallions in the inaugural Champions Twenty20 League makes the tournament complete in all respects. We are very happy to have Sialkot Stallions among the participating teams. The Pakistani team, led by Shoaib Malik, will make the inaugural Champions League Twenty20 more competitive and interesting," said Lalit Modi.

The teams will be competing for a prize pool of US$6 million in the Champions League Twenty20 which is a ten-day inaugural tournament to be played at Mumbai, Chennai and Bangalore from December 3 to 10 inclusive.

The eight teams are the finalists in the various domestic leagues, as per regulations of the League and will play 15 matches. The number will move up to 12 teams playing 23 matches from year two.

The teams will be divided into two groups of four teams each. After the preliminary league matches, the top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals and their winners will clash in the grand finale in Mumbai on December 10.

No comments: