Sep 25, 2009

Champions Somerset Sabres - Surging Ahead

Somerset Qualified for champions league by being runners up to Sussex in English Domestic Twenty20 Championship.Somerset County Cricket Club is situated in the heart of Taunton.The club has its headquarters at the County Cricket Ground, Taunton.

View Larger Map

Former Australian cricket team opening batsman Justin Langer is the captain of the Twenty 20 Side.While He has decided to leave somerset next season and Marcus Trescothick ,the dashing england opener will be captaining the side.

Story Of Somerset in the last couple of years has been nothing but a fairytale.Justin Langer has been a fantastic captain who has the club into Division One Cricket in both ODI and Test Cricket.Justin has been a great servant for the game of cricket over the years and now his team has given Somerset momentum for years to come.

Marcus Trescothick at the Top of the Innings is the key players to watch out for, His knock off 56 from 32 balls ensured the semi-final victory against Kent which allowed Somerset to qualify for CLT20.CLT20 would be Trescothick first overseas for cricket since a stress related illness cut short his international career.

The team also has some power players in the form of Peter Trego and Craig Kieswetter with a T20 strike-rate of 136 and 139.15 respectively.The team has plenty of all rounders in West Indian International Player Omari Banks, Arul Suppiah, Ben Philips ,Peter Trego,Zander de Bruyn,and Alfonso Thomas.

Max Waller,Arul Suppiah and Banks have to share the load in spinner friendly Sub Continent pitches.The ball is not going to swing as much as it did in England so adapting to Indian Conditions is the key. They are a very good side which has players who play together for the entire season without leaving for International duties will be their advantage taking on other teams.

Somerset Sabres Squad

Justin Langer (C)
Alfonso Thomas,
Arul Suppiah,
Ben Phillips,
Charl Willoughby,
Craig Kieswetter,
James Hildreth,
Jos Buttler,
Max Waller,
Mark Turner,
ME Trescothick,
Omari Banks,
Peter Trego,
Wes Durston,
Zander de Bruyn.

No comments: