Sep 22, 2009

Champions Trinidad & Tobago - Caribbean Calypso

T&T represent the West Indies cricket board (WICB) as their Twenty 20 champions after the Stanford Twenty20 Tournament.Trinidad is the larger and more populous of the main islands; Tobago is much smaller, comprising about 6% of the total area and 4% of the entire population which is estimated at 1.3 million

View Larger Map

Its the birthplace of calypso, steelpan, soca, limbo and B.C.Lara.So the cricketing and non cricketing folks have had a lots of good times courtesy T&T.Unfortunately the good times seems to be running out for West Indies Cricket.In the last decade they haven't won any major titles apart from Champions Trophy in England 2004.Cricket needs Caribbean and everyone in that part of the world know that better than us, yet they keep repeating the mistakes.

Darren Ganga the captain of Trinidad & Tobago who works as a community relations officer with the state-owned oil company Petrotrin has just managed to get himself cleared to play for champions league after his company initially refused to grant him leave for the Twenty20 tournament.His deputy Dwayne Bravo is key the international player in the side who has to shoulder the responsibility.

T&T has played some consistently brilliant Twenty20.In Stanford Super Series where T&T convincingly whipped English County champions Middlesex (Qualified For CLT20 2008) and narrowly lost by one run to England's senior team.

Apart from Ganga and Dwayne Bravo, the batting is in the capable hands of West Indies players Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard and Darren Bravo,Darren Bravo will be the player to watch out for in CLT20.His bat lift, footwork and timing reminiscent of the Trinidad & Tobago legend Brain Charles Lara.William Perkins and Adrian Barath can both clear the fence with ease.

West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin will do duties behind the stumps.Their fielding would be better than most of the sides as there are some exceptional fielders in the side.Leading the group of all-rounders will be Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree, Sherwin Ganga, Rayad Emrit and Dave Mohammed.Tobago-born pacer Navin Stewart, Rampaul and Emrit form their fast bowling attack.

If you are betting on a dark horse,then this is it.T&T has the fire power to go all the way.


Daren Ganga (captain),
Dwayne Bravo (vice-captain),
Lendl Simmons,
William Perkins,
Kieron Pollard,
Sherwin Ganga,
Navin Stewart,
Samuel Badree,
Darren Bravo,
Ravi Rampaul,
Denesh Ramdin,
Sunil Narine,
Adrian Barath,
Rayad Emrit,
Dave Mohammed.

No comments: