Sep 20, 2009

Champions Otago Volts - Electric Kiwi's

The name "Otago" is an old southern Maori word whose North Island dialect equivalent is "Otakou",Otago Volts are the champions of New Zealand's twenty20 tournament.Otago is not a very big city it roughly has a population of 203,500.

View Larger Map

It goes without saying that this is the biggest stage any cricket team from Otago has ever been.Otago cricket and many teams around the world need this spark to ignite the passion back into domestic cricket. The postives of having a chance to participate in CLT20 and then go on to win could mean growth of domestic crikcet around the country.This is ure to inspire Brendon's and Sir Richard's Of Future.
Representing their province and having the responsibility of inspiring a future generation of stars is enough to inspire them.

Brendon Mccullum with his experience at KKR, and their poor run in IPL would have learned a great delas and would be better prepared and would be eager to prove a point. He is a match winner,NSW wouldn't place a $250,000 bid to get this services for their CLT20 squad if he wasn't one.Everyone remembers the opening match of IPL season 1 and everyone wants an encore.

Craig cumming has been the captain of the squad since 2002 and is right hand batsmen who can bowl a bit.He might be the mover in the batting order as he has played as a opener as well as a middle order batsemen.Dimitri (Rajastan Royals) plays 6 or 7 in IPL but may get a Top 4 spot in CLT20 especially if the openers do well.

With 7 players who have played International cricket the team looks very much a CLT20 Team to drive home the point no team in CLT20 is a push over.You got to win the match,no one is going to lose one.

As a born and breed Otago sportsman I cant wait to pull on the blue and gold jumper and represent my province "Otago".Warren McSkimming, the country boy from Oturehua

Otago Squad

Craig Cumming (Captain)
Aaron Redmond
Brendon McCullum
Derek de Boorder
Dimitri Mascarenhas
Greg Todd
Ian Butler
James McMillan
Hamish Rutherford
Nathan McCullum
Neil Broom
Neil Wagner
Nick Beard
Mathew Harvie
Warren McSkimming

No comments: