Oct 1, 2009

Champions Cape Cobras - Ready To Strike

Cape Cobras qualified to Champions League cricket by being Standard Bank Pro20 champions 2009.The Cobras home venues are Newlands, Cape Town and Boland Bank Park, Paarl.The Cobras play in the SuperSport Series, MTN Domestic Championship and Standard Bank Twenty20 competitions.

View Larger Map

The left-handed opening batsman A.Puttick captains the side.It was not so long ago that he was not in the 15-Man CLT20 Squad.Just like his first class career A.Puttick has one tough to act after another .

Hershille Gibbs has the responsibility of being the superstar of the team.He shooulders the responsibility and would be looking to guide the team to good scores along with J.P.Duminy. J.P.Duminy plays for the Mumbai Indians while Hershelle gibbs plays for Deccan Chargers in the IPL.Though Deccan Chargers have qualified for CLT20 Gibbs has decided to play for Cape cobras.

The side also has Charl Langeveldt,Justin Ontong and Vernon Philander who have good international One day international experience.The team looks very well balanced with a lot of experience to handle the pressure situations.They might be considered one of the favourites as there are some T20 specialists in the squad and more importantly with experience

Bowling is the key it wouldn't be exactly newlands pitch at feroz shah kotla so they must be concentrating on taking the pitch out of their game plan. The pitches would be slow and low especially after the monsoon this year.They do have a good chance to go the knock out stages of the tournament,their mainstay being their batting line Up.

Cape Cobras Squad

Derek Brand
Monde Zondeki
A Puttick (C)
Vernon Philander
Francois Plaatjies
Justin Ontong
Richard Levi
Charl Langeveldt
Rory Kleinveldt
Ryan Canning
Henry Davids
Jean-Paul Duminy
S Engelbrecht
Herschelle Gibbs
Claude Henderson

No comments: